LAWA is a collaboration of organisations with a common aim: to tell the story of our environment

About LAWA

Land, Air, Water Aotearoa (LAWA) has been established by like-minded organisations with a view to helping local communities find the balance between using natural resources and maintaining their quality and availability.  LAWA connects us with the environment by sharing environmental data and information.   

Initially a collaboration between New Zealand’s 16 regional councils and unitary authorities, LAWA is now a partnership between the Te Uru Kahika - Regional and Unitary Councils Aotearoa, Cawthron Institute, the Ministry for the Environment, the Department of Conservation, Stats NZ and has been supported by the Tindall Foundation and Massey University.

Partners and supporters

Te Uru Kahika - Regional and Unitary Councils Aotearoa

New Zealand has 16 regional councils and unitary authorities.  As a collective, Te Uru Kahika – Regional and Unitary Councils Aotearoa works together to apply its expertise and local knowledge for the wellbeing of our environments and communities. 

These 16 councils are charged with the integrated management of land, air, and water resources, supporting biodiversity and biosecurity, providing for regional transport services, and building more resilient communities in the face of climate change and natural hazards. Environmental science and local knowledge underpins all that they do.


Cawthron Institute

Cawthron Institute is New Zealand's largest independent science organisation, specialising in understanding and assessing the health and quality of marine and freshwater environments. It focuses on science that helps protect aquatic ecosystems and supports sustainable development of primary industries.



Ministry for the Environment

The Ministry for the Environment is the Government's principal adviser on the environment in New Zealand and on international matters that affect the environment. Part of the Ministry's role is to provide information about the health of New Zealand's environment.



MFE Updated 2017

Department of Conservation

The Department of Conservation is the government agency charged with conserving New Zealand’s natural and historic heritage.




Stats NZ

Stats NZ is New Zealand's official data agency. Part of the agency's role is to report statistics on the state of New Zealand's environment.  They also explore how our economy and environment interact.  www.stats.govt.nz



Massey University

For more than 80 years, Massey University has helped shape the lives of communities of people in New Zealand and around the world. Its forward-thinking spirit, research-led teaching, and cutting-edge discoveries make Massey New Zealand's defining university. Massey University's research-led design studio, Open Lab, oversaw the design process, from user workshops to the finished product when LAWA was launched in 2014.






Tindall Foundation

The Tindall Foundation is a private family foundation that gives to organisations and communities throughout Aotearoa New Zealand by way of donations, training, capacity building and research, and by partnering with others.


   Tindall Foundation logo

Regional Councils and Unitary Authorities

Click on a council for more details.

Auckland Council
Bay of Plenty Regional Council
Environment Canterbury
Gisborne District Council
Greater Wellington Regional Council
Hawke's Bay Regional Council
Horizons Regional Council
Marlborough District Council
Nelson City Council
Northland Regional Council
Otago Regional Council
Environment Southland
Taranaki Regional Council
Tasman District Council
Waikato Regional Council
West Coast Regional Council